Home Blog Laptop BIOS setup breaks Lenovo ThinkPad laptops

BIOS setup breaks Lenovo ThinkPad laptops

Most laptop users are well aware that, without sufficient experience, it is better to set up. BIOS do not meddle deeply. However, in the case of Lenovo ThinkPad laptops, even the most innocuous changes in the BIOS, as it turned out, can easily "break" the laptop.
This is corroborated by recent complaints posted on Reddit and the Lenovo laptop forum. According to them, some users have activated a function in the BIOS, which in some models is called BIOS support for Thunderbolt, and in others - Thunderbolt BIOS Assist. And after activating this function, laptops turned into "bricks".

According to users, after activating these options, laptops freeze after reboot and no longer boot. Laptop repair Lenovo Thinkpad, "broken" in this way, is simply not possible at home. However, the NotebookCheck site already claims to have found what the problem is - it's about UEFI corruption. The only solution is to replace the laptop motherboard. At the moment, the problem is noted in the ThinkPad P52, P52s, P72, P1, and X1 Yoga 2018 laptops. Cheaper laptops of the ThinkPad family (such as the L380 and E480 models), as well as models from this family that went on sale before 2017, do not have such a defect. Lenovo is supposedly already aware of the problem, but the company has yet to provide an update to solve it.

Read also:  Why do computers break down? 6 most common reasons
en_USEnglish

Настройка BIOS ломает лэптопы Lenovo ThinkPad

Большинство пользователей ноутбуков прекрасно знают, что, не имея достаточного опыта, лучше в настройки BIOS глубоко не соваться. Однако в случае с ноутбуками Lenovo ThinkPad даже самые безобидные изменения в BIOS, как выяснилось, могут запросто «сломать» ноутбук.
Это подтверждают недавние жалобы, появившиеся на сайте Reddit и на форуме владельцев ноутбуков Lenovo. Как гласят они, некоторые пользователи активировали в BIOS функцию, которая в одних моделях носит название BIOS support for Thunderbolt, а в других – Thunderbolt BIOS Assist. И после активации этой функции ноутбуки превратились в «кирпичи».

Как пишут пользователи, после активации этих опций ноутбуки зависают после перезагрузки и больше не загружаются. Ремонт ноутбуков Lenovo Thinkpad, «сломанных» таким образом, в домашних условиях просто не представляется возможным. Однако сайт NotebookCheck уже утверждает, что нашел, в чем проблема – речь о повреждении UEFI. Единственным же решением является замена материнской платы лэптопа. На данный момент проблема отмечается в ноутбуках ThinkPad P52, P52s, P72, P1, а также X1 Yoga 2018. Более дешевые ноутбуки семейства ThinkPad (такие как модели L380 и E480), а также модели из этого семейства, поступившие в продажу до 2017 года, таким дефектом не обладают. Как предполагается, Lenovo уже в курсе проблемы, однако обновление, решающее ее, компания до сих пор не представила.

Читайте также