How do I create a strong password?

The degree of password complexity depends on the importance of the information that you store under the password - every user of electronic devices should know this, be it a computer or a smartphone.

If the data that you store under a password is really valuable to you, you should think about creating a complex (secure) password.

What is a strong password?

The complexity of a password is determined by several indicators: the length of the password, the presence of capital letters, special characters and numbers.

When you create an account on the Internet or register on the site, the system checks your password for complexity, but it does it automatically.

Therefore, the password 0be$yanA, determined by the system as strong, may not be such, although it contains capital letters, numbers, and symbols.

Malicious software that tries to crack your password goes through thousands of combinations, so passwords consisting of a set of letters that have some meaning can be cracked without problems.

More often than not, people are sure that they have created a hack-protected password only because it is "original" for them. But for hacker software that calculates thousands of different variations, the password is not unique.

Most often, in order to easily remember the password, they use personal data - dates, names, addresses and surnames. Again, a password like "07.21.2015" or "21072015" will not be reliable, and searching for variations for special software will take minutes. In addition, if the password is hacked, it will automatically be applied to all accounts, mail and personal password-protected data. Therefore, each mailbox has its own password!

How do I create the strongest password?

Let's summarize what needs to be done to protect yourself from hacking:

  • Use all possible symbols, numbers and capital letters to make your password more complex.
  • Make the password length closer to 20 characters or more.
  • The most reliable password is typed on the keyboard "gibberish" without any sense.
  • Do not use personal information in the password, it is too easy to calculate.
  • For each site, mail, account, create your own password.

How do I create a strong password?

There are online password creation services as well as computer password managers that create complex passwords from a combination of letters, numbers, and symbols. To use them, you just need to set the number of characters that the password should consist of.

Password generator

The utility will offer a list of options.
Create a password with a password manager

But there are pitfalls when using such password generators.

  1. It is not possible to remember such passwords and therefore must be kept in an inaccessible place.
  2. The second drawback is that no one gives a guarantee that the generated password is not automatically entered into the World Wide Web password database, because each generator may have its own anti-generator.

2-step authentication

Many serious companies such as Yandex, Google, Facebook, VKontakte, Mail.ru and others use two-step (two-factor) authentication. This greatly improves the security of these services. The bottom line is additional confirmation, via a mobile device, that you are the one who wants to log into your account. The first time the password is entered upon request, and the second time the code sent by SMS to the mobile device or mail is entered. Thus, even if an attacker knows the password, he cannot use it without having access to your phone. Use this convenient service to keep your personal data safe, especially if you have to log into your account from someone else's computer.

Read also:  The laptop makes a lot of noise. What to do?

How do I store passwords?

  1. In mind. If there is a need to keep the password in memory and not write it down anywhere, then it is necessary to make it as much as possible inaccessible to hackers, but memorable for you. In this case, the advice is:
    • use several words that are unrelated in meaning and written in Latin letters using capital letters;
    • or a line from your favorite book, written in Latin letters, instead of spaces, numbers and symbols;

    And remember: the more characters the password contains, the more variations the cracker will have to try, and perhaps he won’t start cracking at all, since the time spent will not pay off.

  2. On the media. It is up to you to decide which media to choose, which is the most reliable and convenient.
  3. For especially important documents and accounts, we advise you to remember passwords or write them down on paper and store them in a place inaccessible to anyone (or better in a safe under a combination lock).

    For less important information, you can use an offline password storage, for example, KeePass, or an archive of RAR documents, to which a password is also set. Online storage, for example LastPass, I do not recommend as a storage medium, since they are hacked with enviable frequency. While their advantage is the ability to sync with different devices.

All of these methods can increase the percentage of security, but no one can guarantee that private information will not become public.

Even the most difficult password can be stolen by inadvertently entering the password in a pop-up window on the wrong site. This type of online fraud is called phishing... Therefore, check the sites and their addresses several times before entering the data when prompted for "Authorization".

If, nevertheless, it was not possible to save confidential information when hacking the system or using malware, we suggest contacting a specialized service. Our experienced programmers and engineers will provide ambulance computer help with a visit to your home in Minsk and restore information and user data as quickly and thoroughly as possible.

en_USEnglish

Как создать надежный пароль?

От важности информации, которую вы храните под паролем, зависит степень сложности пароля — это должен знать каждый пользователь электронных устройств будь то компьютер или смартфон

Если данные которые вы храните под паролем действительно имеют для Вас ценность, стоит задуматься о создании сложного (защищенного) пароля.

Какой пароль является надежным?

Сложность пароля определяется несколькими показателями: длина пароля, наличие заглавных букв, специальных символов и цифр.

При создании аккаунта в интернете или регистрации на сайте система проверяет ваш пароль на сложность, но делает это автоматически.

Поэтому пароль 0be$yanA определенный системой как надежный, таковым может не является, хотя содержит и заглавные буквы, и цифры, и символы.

Вредоносное программное обеспечение, нацеленное на взлом вашего пароля, перебирает тысячи комбинаций, поэтому  пароли, состоящие из набора букв, которые  имеют какой-либо смыл, взламываются без проблем.

Чаще всего люди уверены, что создали защищенный от взлома пароль, только потому, что он является для них «оригинальным». Но для хакерского ПО, просчитывающего тысячи различных вариаций, пароль является не уникальным.

Чаще всего, для того чтобы легко запомнить пароль используют личные данные — даты, имена, адреса и фамилии. Опять-таки, пароль вида «21.07.2015» или «21072015» — не будет надежным , а поиск вариаций для специального ПО займет минуты. Кроме того если пароль будет взломан, он автоматически будет применим ко всем аккаунтам, почте и личным запароленым данным. Поэтому, каждому ящику — свой пароль!

Как создать самый надежный пароль?

Подведем итог, что необходимо сделать, чтобы обезопасить себя от взлома:

  • Используйте все возможные символы, цифры и заглавные буквы, чтобы усложнить пароль.
  • Делайте длину пароля ближе к 20 символам и более.
  • Самый надежный пароль — это набранная на клавиатуре «абракадабра» без какого-либо смысла.
  • Не используйте личные данные в пароле, их слишком просто вычислить.
  • Для каждого сайта, почты, аккаунта придумайте свой пароль.

Как создать надежный пароль?

Существуют онлайн-сервисы для создания паролей, а также менеджеры паролей для компьютера, которые создают сложные пароли из комбинации букв,цифр и символов. Для их использования потребуется всего лишь задать количество символов, из которых должен состоять пароль.

Генератор паролей

Утилита предложит перечень вариантов.
Создание пароля с помощью менеджера паролей

Но при использовании таких генераторов паролей есть свои «подводные камни».

  1. Такие пароли не представляется возможным запомнить и поэтому их нужно хранить в недоступном месте.
  2. Вторым недостатком, является то, что никто не дает гарантии, что сгенерированный пароль автоматически не вносится в базу паролей всемирной паутины, ведь на каждый генератор, может быть свой антигенератор.

Двухэтапная аутентификация

Многие серьезные компании, такие как Яндекс, Google, Facebook, ВКонтакте, Мail.ru и  др. используют двухэтапную (двухфакторную) аутентификацию. Это значительно повышает безопасность этих сервисов. Суть заключается в дополнительном подтверждении, посредством мобильного устройства, что в аккаунт хотите зайти именно вы. Первый раз пароль вводится при запросе, а второй раз вводится код, высланный СМС-сообщением на мобильное устройство или почту. Таким образом, даже если злоумышленник знает пароль, он не сможет им воспользоваться, не имея доступа к вашему телефону. Используйте этот удобный сервис для безопасности личных данных, особенно если приходится входить в ваш аккаунт с чужого компьютера.

Как хранить пароли?

  1. В памяти. Если существует необходимость хранить пароль в памяти и никуда его не записывать, значит необходимо по максимуму сделать его недосягаемым для взломщиков, но запоминаемым для вас. На этот случай совет такой:
    • используйте несколько слов, несвязанных между собой по смыслу и записанных латинскими буквами с использованием заглавных;
    • или строчку из любимой книги, записанную латинскими буквами, вместо пробелов цифры и символы;

    И помните: чем больше символов содержит пароль — тем больше вариаций придется перебрать взломщику, а возможно и вовсе не станет браться за взлом, так как потраченное время не окупится.

  2. На носителе. Решать вам, какой носитель выбрать, какой является наиболее надежным и удобным.
  3. Для особо важных документов и аккаунтов советуем запомнить пароли или записать на бумажный носитель и хранить в недоступном никому месте (а лучше в сейфе под кодовым замком).

    Для менее важной информации можно использовать оффлайн хранилище паролей, например KeePass, или же архив документов RAR, на который также выставляется пароль. Онлайн хранилище, к примеру LastPass, я не рекомендую как средство хранения, так как они с завидной периодичностью взламываются. Хотя их преимуществом является возможность синхронизации с различными устройствами.

Все перечисленные методы могут повысить процент безопасности, но гарантий никто дать не может , что частная информация не станет достоянием общественности.

Даже самый сложный пароль можно украсть, если по неосторожности ввести пароль во всплывающем окне не на том сайте. Такой вид интернет-мошенничества называется фишинг. Поэтому несколько раз проверяйте сайты и их адреса, прежде чем ввести данные при запросе «Авторизации».

Если все же не удалось уберечь конфиденциальную информацию при взломе системы или посредством вредоносного ПО предлагаем обратиться в специализированный сервис. Наши опытные программисты и инженеры окажут скорую компьютерную помощь с выездом на дом в Минске и восстановят информацию и пользовательские данные максимально быстро и тщательно.